Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Cricket > Report

Dravid named captain of ICC's Test team

Harish Kotian in Mumbai | November 03, 2006 21:42 IST
Last Updated: November 04, 2006 01:22 IST

India's Rahul Dravid was named captain of the ICC's Test Team of the Year at the 2006 International Cricket Council Awards, sponsored by Hyundai, in Mumbai on Friday.

He is the only Indian to be named in the team, which has as many as five Australians.

"It's a huge honour and privilege to lead this side. It felt great just to be nominated in the ICC Test team of the year," Dravid said.

Also read:
- Jayawardene is Captain of the Year
- Taufel best for third straight year
- Hussey is ODI Player of the Year

"This side will be very easy to lead. You just have to give them the ball or the bat and you can be sure they will fire," he added.

He also said it was disappointing not to make the final of the ICC Champions Trophy, since the tournament is being hosted in India.

- Rediff Select Your Best results

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene, who earlier bagged the ICC captain of the year award, was named captain of the ICC ODI team of the year.

Three Indians -- Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan -- were named in the ODI team of the year.

Australians Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee and Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan figure in both the Test and ODI teams.

The eleven leading players in Test and ODI cricket have been recognised by their selection in the ICC's Test and ODI Teams of the year.

The teams were selected by a group of five selectors, led by former India captain and chairman of the ICC's Cricket Committee, Sunil Gavaskar. The other selectors are Allan Donald, Ian Healy, Arjuna Ranatunga and Waqar Younis.

Teams: (in batting order)

ICC Test team of the year: Matthew Hayden (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Rahul Dravid (captain - India), Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan), Kumara Sangakkara (wicketkeeper - Sri Lanka), Andrew Flintoff (England), Shane Warne (Australia), Makhaya Ntini (South Africa), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Glenn McGrath (Australia), 12th man: Brett Lee (Australia).

ICC ODI team of the year: Adam Gilchrist (wicketkeeper - Australia), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Mahela Jayawardene (captain - Sri Lanka), Yuvraj Singh (India), Michael Hussey (Australia), Andrew Flintoff (England), Irfan Pathan (India), Brett Lee (Australia), Shane Bond (New Zealand), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), 12th man: Andrew Symonds (Australia).

Roll of honour:

Captain of the year: Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
Women's player of the year: Karen Rolton (Australia)
Umpire of the year: Simon Taufel (Australia)
Captain of ICC's Test team of the year: Rahul Dravid (India)
Emerging player of the year: Ian Bell (England)
One-Day International player of the year: Michael Hussey (Australia)
Test player of the year: Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Player of the year: Ricky Ponting

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 15

Sub: the indian will fail in southafrica

mohd azzurdin (captain) saurav ganguly robin uttapa venugopal rao yuvraj singh partiv patel gautam gambir irfan pathan sreesanth anil kumble harbhajan singh munaf patel murali ...


Sub: c

indian team is very poor only for ad basic tu chal main aaya

Posted by vipin

Sub: Rahul as ICC captain.

Dubious distinction, considering, he(Rahul) is not fit to captain team India in the first place.winning/stragegy/team leadership qualities means everything, & Dravid is very much lacking ...

Posted by jevan.J

Sub: Brett Lee (India)... Are U Sure?

Brett Lee (India) Are U Sure?

Posted by Raj

Sub: Congratulatioins!

Congratulatioins! to Rahul Dravid for the feat....India should do well against SA under Rahul...

Posted by Vijay



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.