Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > Report

No UP CM completed full term

March 13, 2007 14:43 IST

Related Articles
Uttar Pradesh Elections 2007

No chief minister in Uttar Pradesh has been able to complete a five-year term.

Bharatiya Janata Party's Kalyan Singh is the only chief minister who was on the post in the entire 11th Assembly, which was dissolved just in 2 years following the demolition of the Babri Masjid on December 6, 1992.

Of the total 31 chief ministers so far in the state since 1952, Congress leader Chandrabhanu Gupta and Narain Dutt Tiwari have a record to honour the CM post for four times, Mulayam Singh Yadav and Mayawati thrice, late Sampurnand, Choudhury Charan Singh, Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna and Kalyan Singh twice, while late Govind Ballabh Pant, Sucheta Kripalani, T N Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Ram Naresh Yadav, Banarasi Das, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Sripati Mishra, Vir Bahadur Singh, Ramprakash Gupta, and Rajnath Singh have donned the mantel once.

Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant was the first CM of the state who took the oath on May 20, 1952, but in 1954 Sampurnand became the CM. After the 1957 Assembly polls, Sampurnand again became the CM, but his life was short-lived and he was succeeded by Chandrabhanu Gupta in 1960.

After the 1962 Assembly polls, Chandrabhanu Gupta became the CM for second time, but he resigned in 1963 and Sucheta Kripalani became the CM. In March 1967, Gupta again became the CM for a very short period of one month and he was succeeded by Choudhury Charan Singh.

In 1968, the Charan Singh government was dismissed and for the first time President's rule was imposed in the state which continued for about one year. Gupta again became the CM in 1969 and continued for one year.

Charan Singh again became the CM in 1970 and was again dismissed within eight months and later T N Singh of the Congress took the post. T N Singh's period was also short lived and he was succeeded by Kamlapati Tripathi in 1971.

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna became the CM in 1973 and continued as the CM for the second time after Assembly polls in 1974.

After Emergency, Narain Dutt Tiwari became the CM and he was succeeded by Ram Naresh Yadav during the Janata Party wave in 1977. Babu Banarasi Das became the CM in 1980 after division of the Janata Party and after the 1980 Assembly polls, Vishwanath Pratap Singh became the CM.

V P Singh resigned after two years and then Pandit Sripati Mishra became the CM in 1982. But in 1985 Narain Dutt Tiwari became the CM for the second time and after the 1985 Assembly polls, he took the post for the third time.

However, Tiwari's tenure was short-lived; for only six months and he was succeeded by Vir Bahadur Singh.

Vir Bahadur resigned in 1988 and Narain Dutt Tiwari again became the CM for the fourth time. In 1989 Mulayam Singh Yadav became the CM for the first time, but his government fell in 1991.

Kalyan Singh became the CM in 1991, but the Assembly was dissolved in December 1992. In 1993 Assembly polls, Mulayam Singh again became the CM, but in 1995 Mayawati became the CM for the first time with the support of BJP.

Mayawati again became the CM in 1997 and after six month Kalyan Singh took her place.

Ramprakash Gupta succeeded Kalyan Singh in 1999 and later Rajnath Singh took his place in 2000.

After 2002 Assembly polls, Mayawati became the CM with the support of BJP, but in 2003 Mulayam Singh Yadav became the CM for the third time.