Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

MNS attacks: 5 JD(U) MPs resign in protest

November 07, 2008 12:27 IST
Last Updated: November 07, 2008 14:11 IST

Five JD(U) MPs on Friday resigned from Lok Sabha stepping up pressure on the Centre on the issue of attacks on North Indians in Congress-ruled Maharashtra.

"What option did we have when the Constitution is under attack and that the unity and integrity of the country is in peril in the wake of the incidents in Maharashtra?" JD(U) Lok Sabha leader Prabhunath Singh asked.

He was talking to reporters minutes after he and four other MPs -- George Fernandes [Images], Rajiv Ranjan Singh 'Lallan', Kailash Baitha and Meena Singh, submitted their resignation to Lok Sabha Secretary General P D T Achary.

They had sought an appointment with Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee [Images] but could not meet him as he is unwell and hospitalised.

The resignations have come at a time when politics is hotting up in Bihar on the issue of the attacks allegedly by the Raj Thackeray-led MNS and the JD(U) MPs even made an oblique attack on RJD chief Lalu Prasad as also LJP leader

Ramvilas Paswan for failing to quit the Union Cabinet on the issue.

 "When the Central government is being seen surrendering to the divisive forces, ministers from Hindi region are wanting to enjoy power and not leave their posts," they said.

Singh accused Prasad of displaying "chipko" (sticking to the chair) behaviour and dismissed RJD charges that the JD(U) was instrumental in breaking the unity of leaders from Bihar on the emotive issue.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop